Hello to whomever, besides me, has ever viewed this blog...
Just a quick update.
I have fallen victim to the in-school curse. My mom and Grandma recognized it before I did, but politely waited for me to mention it before concurring. The pale, acne-laden, pudgy face I am now donning is almost the exact same face I donned back in the early 2000s when I was an undergrad. It's not QUITE as pudgy. But if I don't keep continuing to work hard, it will be soon.
Anyway, I am excited to see more changes in my physical abilities. I am back to being quick on the ball in soccer. A couple of weekends ago I had a girl who is probably about 5 years younger than me whine to me, "you're too freaking fast!" :) Biiiiiiig smile. I haven't been called fast in almost 2 years. I do feel it. Although I am not slimming down yet (more on this in a second), I feel my strength and speed improving. I feel aerobic kickboxing has a lot to do with it since it works my quads a lot-having strong quads allows me to out-maneuver my opponents and then explode with speed to execute what us soccer players like to call a "juke" (see youtube videos of Cristiano Ronaldo for the definition of "juking").
My friend Bobbi suggested I try a new workout DVD by Jillian Michael's so I purchased it and WOW. I started with 20 minutes of pretty strong cardio to Biggest Loser's Cardio Max DVD and transitioned right into the Jillian Michael's workout (level 1 of course). Jillian's technique focuses on circuit training that combines 3 minutes of strength training, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs. Once you've done 6 minutes, you start all over again for circuit #2 and then circuit #3. It REALLLLY pushes you but it's very doable because when you're feeling like you're maxed out in exhaustion you think to yourself "I can SO do just 3 more minutes of strength training/2 more minutes of cardio." For me, the strength training is the most difficult and I actually look FORWARD to the cardio section. Then once I am exhausted from cardio I say "Yay-now it's abs!" Folks, that is the only time you will hear me say something like that lol. Anyway, if I don't make it to AKB tomorrow, I will be doing this same combo.
Now what to do about my EATING HABITS??
Stay tuned...
Sunday, February 15, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
